An 1865 inventory and appraisal of property belonging to Henry C. Hancock (Confederate Captain killed in 1864). Includes lands, buildings, slaves, furniture and household items, books, and personal possessions. Filed on January 19, 1865. Signed...
Committees; Meetings; Grand juries; Judicial proceedings; Sectionalism (United States); Politics & government; State rights; Republic of Texas;
Printed invitation to attend a public dinner in Columbus, Georgia to discuss "mode and measure of redress" in reaction to the Federal government's treatment of Southern states. August 15, 1832. Names of senders: James W. Fannin, Jr., Nicholas...
1835 document acknowledging receipt of a ten dollar donation for the U.S. volunteers, made by William Loyd on behalf of the Committee of Vigilance & Safety, Nacogdoches, Texas. Received by J. Porter and H. H. Edwards.
Revolutions; Ammunition; Gunpowder; Rangers; Republic of Texas;
Order requesting that William Smith forward lead and gunpowder to the Texas Rangers under the command of Captain Silas and charge the cost to the government of Texas. Signed by Henry Millard, Committee Chair, San Felipe, Texas.
Transfer of deed for 800 acres land in Nacogdoches County, North of the Stage Road between Nacogdoches and Chireno, for the sum of five dollars, from Joseph F. Palmer to his sister, Fenetta M. Baker both of San Augustine County. Witnessed by Wm....
Carts & wagons; Pack animals; Packtrains; Republic of Texas
1839 receipt to H. J. Offett for the hire of wagon and animals to carry supplies to the Sabine River for the army of the Republic of Texas. Signed by John S. Roberts, Quarter Master, and William G. Cook, Quarter Master General.
Law & legal affairs; Judicial proceedings; Trials, litigation, etc.
Republic of Texas, County of San Augustine, order to the sheriff, William Kimbro, to summon John Patterson, G. H. Payne, and Thomas Richardson to appear before the Court and give evidence. Issued by J. B. Johnson.
A large dogtrot house with a sleeping loft and squared logs originally located about five miles west of Central Heights, Texas, on County Road 698. Built by William and Susan Hayter who came to Texas in 1842.
A picture of the Sitton Dogtrot as it is moved to Millard’s Crossing Historic Village. It was built in 1843 by William Hayter, and originally located off CR 698, west of Central Heights. It was donated by Sam Sitton.
Various florist cards with envelopes to Mrs. Albert Thomas, St. Joseph, 2208 Isabell Ave. Names listed on cards are Alice Garrett, Gene Thomas, Mrs. T.L. Sojourner, Bing and Mary Porter, Bob and Billie, O.D. Smith, William McCraw, and Albert.
Color prints of deconstruction and restoration of the Sitton Dog Trot Log Cabin, showing former board and batten siding, chinking, and shingles. The cabin was built in 1843 by William Hayter and was donated by Sam Sitton. It was originally located...