The structure on the campus of SFA is a replica of the building that started its life as a magnificent Spanish Colonial house. Built by Antonio Gil Y'Barbo sometime between 1788 and 1791 on the Camino Real, the house weathered four revolutionary actions, acquiring its nickname the "Old Stone Fort" along the way. Today it stands as a museum containing rich historic and cultural artifacts. According to the website, Stone Fort Museum staff collects, displays and interprets artifacts from pre-1900 East Texas especially the Spanish and Mexican periods from 1690 through 1836.
Browse this collection